About PYV

Permaculture Yarra Valley is a not-for-profit association, incorporated in Victoria under the Association’s Incorporation Reform Act of 2012. We have a bio-regional focus on the Yarra Valley, with our membership spread throughout the Yarra Valley and adjoining areas.


To be an active and empowering organisation working within the local and broader community to develop a sustainable, fair and connected society.


  • to provide environmental education through the application of Permaculture principles to the design of sustainable communities in the Yarra Valley and the wider landscape,
  • to support its members in the promotion of permaculture,
  • to network with like-minded organisations.


Environmental Goal – A community living in harmony with the environment through the use of permaculture design principles and techniques.

Educational (Membership) Goal – A membership of people who feel empowered to share permaculture knowledge, practices and experience among themselves and the wider community.

Social (Organisational) Goal – A community organisation that encourages, activates and supports local permaculture initiatives that contribute to a sustainable community within the Yarra Valley

Organisational Structure

In compliance with the Act we have a Management Committee elected annually at the Annual General Meeting. The 2018-19 Committee consists of :

President – Travis Heenan

Vice President – Bastien Burkart

Secretary – Robert Marston

Treasurer – Sarah Burgess

Ordinary Members –  Robyn Veeken, Eddy Kron, Mary-Ellen Wallace-Smith  & Peter Veeken

Responsibilities for team activities are as follows :

Membership – Peter Veeken

Events Co-ordinator –  Travis Heenan

Newsletter Editor – Robyn Veeken

Website –  Peter Veeken & Robert Marston

Facebook – TBA

Training – Graeme George (Coordinator), Stuart Ryder, Travis Heenan